Alabama State Details

Take Alabamas’ DPS approved Adult online Defensive Driving course!

Just $41.25! No hidden fees. All-inclusive price.

Over 75 million trained by NSC, the nation’s #1 online program!

State-of-the-art, fully narrated online learning

Take at your own pace – flexible – log in/out as needed

Potential savings with your insurance company

Watch a Video of Our Course

Preview Our Online Course

Our online defensive driving course is designed and written with the assistance of a select group of devoted highway traffic safety trainers and specialists.

Our Safe and Smart Guarantee

If for any reason you are not satisfied with your DDC Online Driver Safety Training Program in the first 30 days, simply let us know and we will issue a no-questions-asked refund. Consumer information will also not be sold or disclosed.

Illinois Adult Driver Education Course

Completion of National Safety Council’s Illinois Online Course, satisfies the Adult Driver Education (ADE) Course requirements under Public Act 98-167. Driver’s license applicants ages 18, 19, and 20, who have never previously been licensed or completed an approved classroom driver education course, are required to complete the IL ADE Course prior to becoming licensed.

Answers to other frequently asked questions about the IL ADE Course can be found at the IL SOS site

How long is the course?

All online Adult Driver Education Courses approved by the Illinois SOS are required to be no less than six (6) hours. National Safety Council’s online defensive driving course fulfills that requirement. Our course is fully narrated, providing an easier user-experience than other courses that require reading through content or which charge an additional fee for narration.

You may take the online defensive driving course in increments at your leisure, with a convenient built-in bookmark feature that allows you to return where you left off. Per IL SOS, courses must be completed within thirty (30) days of instruction commencement. The course does not include, and is not required by IL SOS to include, any behind-the-wheel training.

How is IL SOS notified of my completion?

IL SOS requires drivers complete the course and pass the required exam with a minimum 75% score. Upon successful completion, NSC will electronically notify the Illinois SOS within two (2) business days. The SOS will then send an e-mail to the e-mail address you provided to NSC. The email contains a link where you can download your Certificate of Completion. Print the certificate and bring it to the nearest Secretary of State facility with your other required identification documents and complete the remaining requirements.

Who should take this course?

You MUST take a six (6) hour Adult Driver Education Course to obtain an Illinois driver’s license if all three of the following points are accurate:

  • You are 18, 19, or 20 years old;
  • You are applying for an Illinois driver’s license for the first time; and
  • You have never taken any type of driver education course in high school or through a commercial driving school.
  • IMPORTANT: If you have completed the classroom portion of a teenage driver education course and can provide proof to IL SOS, you do not need to take this class.

NOTE: You do not need to take the IL ADE Course when applying for the Illinois Instruction Permit.

Our Course Cost

$ 69
I Drive Safely - $92.50
Top Driver - $79
American Safety Council - $79

Have questions? Contact Us.

    You can also call NSC Illinois at (800) 822-7009.

    Complaints regarding NSC may be directed to the Secretary of State’s Commercial Driver Training School Section at 847-981-7455.